RSS

19 Pounds of Pickles

17 Sep


It’s been a while since I’ve shared anything and while I certainly could have shared last weekend, other things got in the way.  Like a really cool arts festival, so I didn’t write.  Now I am here to tell you about last weekend.  We entered the wide world of food preservation.  Thanks to my grandma, we came home from my parents’ house completely equipped to start canning.  With 19 pounds of pickles fresh from our garden, we naturally made pickles.  We used a few different recipes, two of which were the packaged pickling spices.  The third was Alton Brown’s Dill Pickles.  I will leave the rest of the story to the pictures…

These are Alton Brown’s pickles…they are supposed to be made in a pickle crock.  Since we didn’t have one, we opted for the crock out of our crock pot.  They are currently fermenting away in our basement along with 15 jars of perfectly canned pickles.

 

 

Too bad I don’t really like pickles.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 17, 2011 in Cooking and Restaurants, Life

 

4 responses to “19 Pounds of Pickles

  1. ashley purdy

    September 18, 2011 at 1:34 pm

    I like pickles! Send some to me! I just this week found this awesome website and was trying to decide what I should can…maybe pickles! (Look at their link to having a preservation party and check out the playlist…oh-so-clever!)

    http://www.sweetpreservation.com/home

    Question–can you actually grow pickles? Or do you grow cucumbers and pickle them?

     
    • brynnetc

      September 18, 2011 at 4:01 pm

      You grow small pickling cucumbers and pickle them 🙂 A preservation party looks like a whole lot of fun. We could totally rock that!

       
  2. Mom

    September 18, 2011 at 3:14 pm

    Sounds like potential Christmas gifts to me!

     
    • brynnetc

      September 18, 2011 at 4:02 pm

      Who knows…maybe not pickles though. I’d like to give gifts that I’d actually enjoy receiving. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
