RSS

Steinstossen, Schnitzel, and Pineapple Upside Down Cake

28 Aug

It’s Sunday evening and I am not hungry for dinner.  My belly is sufficiently full of schnitzel, potato pancakes, and Molasses cookies.  We headed up to Oregon, OH for the German American Festival this afternoon and were rewarded with the smell of sausages and sauerkraut as we turned into the parking lot.  Mostly this festival is an excuse to eat delicious fried food and drink authentic German beer, but they did have a few interesting events…my favorite being the Steinstossen, or stone throwing contest.  For the men’s competition, the guys had to throw a 138 lb stone…or would that be a rock?  A boulder?  Hmmm.  The farthest we saw someone through was 12.5 feet.  Granted, he was like seven feet tall, but still no small feat.  The ladies had to throw a 75 lb stone.  The record when we left was over nine feet!  I picked up some good tips on form and technique and I am ready to try it out myself next year!

Hanging out with the Germans wasn’t the only fun thing we did this weekend, we also had dinner with our new friends, the Ryan family. We supplied the dessert and in true Brynn fashion it was homemade.  I started out with a simple pineapple upside-down cake, but I wasn’t satisfied.  It may have been the fact that the only round platter/cake plate I have is substantially larger than your typical 9 inch cake, therefore making my cake look pretty puny.  

I needed an accompaniment and what goes better with cake than ice cream.  So…I whipped out my friend Joy (Joy of Cooking, that is) and found her recipe for Vanilla Frozen Yogurt.  Four simple ingredients: plain low-fat yogurt, sugar, whole milk, and gelatin.  

I whipped it up and poured it in my ice cream attachment for the Kitchenaid and we were in business.  When it was still soft out of the machine it tasted a bit like frozen Cool Whip, but as it hardened it morphed into true frozen yogurt.  Yum yum!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 28, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Steinstossen, Schnitzel, and Pineapple Upside Down Cake

  1. Laura @ Musings of an Orange Sheep

    August 28, 2011 at 8:14 pm

    Your pineapple upside down cake looks awesome 🙂 You can ship me any leftovers!

     
  2. Mom

    August 29, 2011 at 12:13 pm

    Can’t wait to see what you cook when you come home this weekend!! 😉

     
  3. brynnetc

    August 31, 2011 at 2:14 pm

    I’ll take recommendations…what do you guys want?

     

Leave a Reply

 
