RSS

Vegetarian for the evening…

19 Jul

For Meatless Monday Tuesday, I tried out a recipe for Chickpea Burgers and Mint Raita.  It turned out pretty tasty!  I used (and adapted a bit) a recipe from Big Girls, Small Kitchen posted on Meatless Monday.

For the burgers:

1/2 cup chopped walnuts (I used pecans because as a part-time Southerner I’ve always got them in the house)
2 garlic cloves
1 shallot
1 15 ounce can of chickpeas, drained and rinsed
1/4 cup mint, minced
1 tablespoon parsley
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1/4 teaspoon paprika
1 large egg, whisked
a little oil for the pan

Toast the nuts on the stove until they smell nutty.  Chop the garlic and shallot in the food processor.  Add the chickpeas, mint, parsley, salt, cumin, and paprika and pulse until it’s all mixed.  It’s a bit crumbly.  Don’t expect hummus or anything.

Dump the mixture into a bowl and mix in the beaten egg.  Now that I write this, I bet you could just plop the egg in the food processor and do the same job with out the bowl.  Hmmm…  Anyhow, then mix in the chopped toasted nuts.  Form into four patties and chill them.

After a while in the fridge, (mine were in for about 2 hours) heat a bit of oil in a pan over medium high heat. Cook the patties for about 4 minutes on each side until they are beautifully browned.

We served ours on toasted whole wheat English muffins with tomato, cucumbers, and the raita:

Mint Raita:

1 cup lowfat plain yogurt
1/3 cup mint leaves, minced
2 tablespoons lemon juice
1 small clove garlic, minced
1/2 teaspoon salt  (I’d cut back…it was a little salty)

Mix everything up in a small bowl and chill.  Simple.

As a side dish I served baby spinach with warm balsamic mushrooms.  I sauteed some crimini mushrooms for about 5 minutes until brown.  Then added in a sprinkle of salt, pepper, and crushed red pepper. About 4 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar finished it off.  I let them cook about about a minute more.  The mushrooms were served over baby spinach and a sprinkle of feta cheese.  Yummy!

I’m hoping to make a meatless meal at least once every week, for no other reason that it is a challenge and it forces me to find new recipes!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 19, 2011 in Cooking and Restaurants

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Vegetarian for the evening…

  1. Sarah Walters Marriott

    July 20, 2011 at 9:16 pm

    I REALLLLLY need you to live closer to me. It’s a NEED…not a WANT. Okay, yes, I want it too…..but my point is that I NEED you closer so it will force me to eat things like this! If I had my best friend around to inspire me to cook more then I’d probably loose the 20 lbs I’m still hanging on to!
    🙂 Miss you…..

     
    • brynnetc

      July 21, 2011 at 8:50 am

      I NEED to live closer to you too. A whole five days with you was great, but that isn’t nearly enough 😦

       

Leave a Reply

 
