RSS

Two IKEA hacks…

14 Jul

Hack #1: Bedside Tables

I was hoping to find some really cool tables for the bedroom at Goodwill that I could change up and make our own.  Three Goodwill stores and two Salvation Army stores later I was empty handed on the bedside table front.  Off to IKEA for a four and a half hour journey through the depths of furniture wonderland.  We admired the a few small tables but none of them were coming in within my ideal budget until we came upon the Lack tables.  I’ve owned numerous Lack side tables and like the simple shape, but I wanted something a little more polished.  I’ve seen this same hack at Ikea Hacker, so I knew it could be done.  I purchased four Lack side tables in black-brown (two for each finished product) at $9.99 each.  I assembled two as per package instructions.  I then attached an extra table top to the bottom of each assembled table.  Done. Plain and simple!

Hack #2: Jewelry Display/Storage

Over the last few years I’ve really gotten into jewelry shopping and my little jewelry box wasn’t cutting it any more.  I saw and idea in a magazine in which necklaces and bracelets were hung from painted coat hooks attached to the back of the door.  I loved the idea, and definitely wanted to do this inside our closet, but I didn’t want to drill a bunch of holes in the wall.  So, during the pilgrimage to IKEA I checked out the As Is section and found a piece of black lacquered wood for $1.99 that was most likely a shelf of some sort.  I already had a ton of old brass drawer knobs from the kitchen, so I painted them with the same spray paint I used on my lamps.

 

I drilled holes where I wanted the jewelry to hang and painted the edges for a little color.  For the earring hangers I just strung fine gauge wire around two sets of knobs.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So, for $1.99 I ended up with a pretty nifty (and thrifty) place for my jewelry.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on July 14, 2011 in Home Decorating

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Two IKEA hacks…

  1. Cassidy Fuller

    July 14, 2011 at 3:08 pm

    awesome ideas!!! 🙂

     
  2. Brian Moody

    July 14, 2011 at 8:27 pm

    Nice work!!!

     
  3. Sarah Walters Marriott

    July 17, 2011 at 12:36 pm

    Seriously, Brynn…you could host an entire show…..You amaze me!
    (And I miss you so much!)
    🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
