RSS

My “New” Lamps

12 Jul

Ever on a quest for inexpensive craft projects, I decided to take advantage of the ugly brass lamps that litter every Goodwill store from coast to coast.  I went to my local Goodwill and purchased three lamps for a grand total of $14.  Now, I would like to have paid less, but I was anxious to get started!

Here’s what I did:

First, I scrubbed each lamp with soap, water, and a piece of steel wool.  After drying, I primed them with Rust-Oleum Painter’s Touch Primer in grey.  I used grey because the paint color for the larger lamps had a grey base.  The two larger lamps got two coats of Krylon Stainless Steel Finish and the little lamp was sprayed with Rust-Oleum Painter’s Touch Satin Green Apple.

Check out the before and after:


A little pop of color in the reading room


 A lamp for the living room


My personal favorite…on the sofa table

In retrospect, I know this wasn’t the thriftiest of projects, but I am absolutely thrilled with the outcome!

 
9 Comments

Posted by on July 12, 2011 in Home Decorating

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “My “New” Lamps

  1. carykirby

    July 12, 2011 at 10:36 am

    It’s still pretty darn thrifty! I’m sure the shades were the downfall of the thriftiness, but that bottom one is awesome! 🙂 Great job. You could go into business with Brian. 😛

     
  2. carykirby

    July 12, 2011 at 10:37 am

    Oh…and I really dig the shape and color of the top one too.

     
  3. brynnetc

    July 12, 2011 at 6:16 pm

    Thanks Cary!! The shades were a splurge, but I was dead set on drum shades. So, what can you do…

     
  4. ashley purdy

    July 13, 2011 at 7:03 pm

    So crafty! And I’m always okay if I splurge a bit on my crafty projects because it’s so much cooler to have something you made with your own hands that you won’t find in anyone else’s living (or reading) room! =)

     
    • brynnetc

      July 14, 2011 at 8:24 am

      I like your logic…I’ll go with that! 😉

       
  5. Brian Moody

    July 14, 2011 at 7:30 am

    The top one is my fave… Nice work!

     
  6. Terence

    July 18, 2011 at 2:38 pm

    We have the exact same picture next to a silver lamp in our living room as well! Odd coincidence or fate?

     
    • brynnetc

      July 18, 2011 at 2:46 pm

      Strange…I don’t even know those children. That’s the picture that came with the frame! 😉

       

Leave a Reply

 
